Survivor of the Week: “Kelley Tuthill, award winning anchor and member of channel 5 news”

Here is a look at, Kelley Tuthill,  Award-Winning Reporter and member of Team 5 Investigates for Channel 5 news, and is walking down the runway at this years Catwalk for a Cure event!


Kelley Tuthill is an award-winning reporter and member of Team 5 Investigates, WCVB-TV’s enterprising and in-depth reporting unit. Tuthill joined NewsCenter 5 in 1998 as a general assignment reporter.

A breast cancer survivor, Tuthill poignantly shared her journey from diagnosis to recovery with Channel 5 viewers and on-line users. The cameras followed her from diagnosis, surgery, chemotherapy and radiation and life after cancer. Tuthill’s frank, personal diary on the station’s website, http://www.TheBostonChannel.com, has received more than one million page views since its launch in January 2007. She is also the co-author of “You Can Do This! Surviving Breast Cancer Without Losing Your Sanity or Your Style.”

When were you first diagnosed with breast cancer? How did it make you feel?

I was first diagnosed in 2006.  I was 36 years old. I was devastated. I thought I was going to die. My thoughts were on my six month old baby and 2 year old girl. All I could think about was that I would abandon them. Very dark time. I felt very scared and hopeless and SCARED. I couldn’t sleep that night at all 😦 I also felt MAD as well.

Where did you receive treatment?  Who was your doctor? What kind of treatment?

Both Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center and Dana Farber. Dr. Susan Troyan did the surgery and Dr. Ann Partridge was my oncologist. My care was incredible. I’m so grateful to them and the dozens of other providers who saved my life and treated me with such compassion.

How did you cope with the breast cancer diagnosis? 

I leaned on my husband and our extensive network of family and friends. People were so amazing to both of us. Family and friends made us meals and helped care for our children. So many special people came with me to my numerous chemotherapy sessions and helped pass the time with fun conversation instead of sadness.

How did you cope with the treatment side effects?  Pharmacological and/or non-pharmacological? Herbal remedies?  Spirituality?

 I used the Zakim Center for Integrative Therapies at Dana Farber. It was amazing. I found acupuncture and reiki had such a calming effect. They helped with nausea and fatigue as well. I also did yoga and exercised regularly.

Are there any events or charities you take part in?

Shortly after my diagnosis my friends founded Kelley for Ellie. It’s an annual fashion show involving the women of NewsCenter 5. We have raised more than $300,000 in five years for the Ellie Fund. That’s a Needham charity that supports women and their families during treatment. I also raise money for the hospitals that cared for me. As well as the amazing Breast Cancer Research Foundation and Komen for a Cure.

What advice could you give to women/men who have recently been diagnosed or are currently receiving treatment?

Stay away from the Internet. You are an individual not a statistic. And take it one day at a time. It’s easy to get overwhelmed when they tell you you need a year or more of treatment. Lean on family and friends and face each challenge as it comes. SURVIVOR!!!  

For more information on Kelley Tuthill and her fight against breast cancer, please visit her Diary page!  http://www.thebostonchannel.com/health/10869647/detail.html

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Posts and Events

    September 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
